A profession of honour

PSA and Guild leaders and leading academics top a huge cast of pharmacy Australia Day honours recipients

A bumper cast of pharmacists has been named in this year’s Australia Day honours list.

Among those gaining recognition were former PSA national president Grant Kardachi, former NSW Guild President (and former acting national president) Paul Sinclair and leading academics Geraldine Moses and Carol Armour.

Grant Kardachi, PSA national president from 2011 to 2015, was made a Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia for “significant service to pharmacy at the state and national level, and to professional societies”.

Mr Kardachi had a lengthy stint as the PSA’s South Australian branch President from 1998 to 2012, and was a National Vice-President from 2008 before stepping into the top role.

A Fellow and Life Member of the Society, he was awarded the Barry Schultz Medal for Excellence in Pharmacy by the Pharmacy Guild of Australia in 2013.

Mr Kardachi has been a leading proponent of professional standards development and scope of practice expansion, being an early HMR accredited pharmacist.

He chaired the PSA’s Project Advisory Group, Professional Practice Standards Review V5 in 2016-2017, and was also Chair of the Code of Ethics Review Committee during the same period. 

Mr Kardachi served as Chair of the Australian Association of Consultant Pharmacy from 2014-15, and has been an AACP board member since 2005.

He also served on the South Australian Domiciliary Medication Management Review Implementation Committee for a decade and served on SA diabetes and asthma committees.

Paul Sinclair spearheaded the Pharmacy Guild of Australia’s Sixth Community Pharmacy Agreement negotiation team, during a period which he headed the Guild’s NSW branch – serving as President from 2013 to 2016.

A leading Guild figure for a number of years, Mr Sinclair has also held international pharmacy positions, serving as President of the Community Pharmacy Section of the International Pharmaceutical Federation, 2014-2018.

Mr Sinclair, awarded the AM “for significant service to pharmacy, to the community, and to local government”, also served as Mayor of Campbelltown, one of the largest Sydney councils, in 1998-99, and was Liverpool Councillor from 1995 to 2004.

A pharmacist since 1981, Mr Sinclair has been a Member, Pharmacy Council of New South Wales, since 2010.

He was a Guild national councillor from 2008 to 2016, Chair of the Guild’s Viability Committee, 2013-2015 and Chair, Professional Programs and Services Advisory Committee, 2005-2008.

Mr Sinclair preceded Mr Kardachi as chair of the Australian Association of Consultant Pharmacy:
Chair, serving from 2012 to 2014, and was a Board Member from 2008-2017.

He has served as a board member of the Asthma Foundation (NSW/QLD), since 2009, and was founding chairman of the Kids of Macarthur Health Foundation, 2000-2010.

One of the best known pharmacy academics, Dr Geraldine Moses was awarded the AM for “significant service to medicine as a pharmacist, particularly through advisory and educational roles”.

Co-founder and director of PharmEducation, since 2010, Dr Moses is the Adjunct Associate Professor, School of Pharmacy, The University of Queensland – a position she has held since 2015.

The 2002 PSA Pharmacist of the Year, she has worked as a consultant pharmacist since 2013, and played a key role in establishing consulting pharmacy as a viable program.

Dr Moses is well known for her work on consumer information helplines, being one of the founders of the Queensland Medication Helpline in 1995. She was also a leader in the Medicines Information Line pilot project at Mater Health Services, Mater Misericordiae, where she has been a Consultant Drug Information Pharmacist since 1992.

Among her other awards are: winner of the prestigious Queensland Bowl of Hygeia award in 1993; an Award of Merit from the Australian Dental Association, 2013; Recipient, Churchill Fellowship, regarding consumer role in pharmacovigilance, 1999, and the William A Harris Memorial Award, Queensland Branch, Society of Hospital Pharmacists Australia, 1996.

Professor Carol Armour was awarded the AM “for significant service to medical education, and to asthma management”.

Professor of Pharmacy at the University of Sydney since 2000, and previously Associate Professor, from 1996-1999, she has served as Executive Director of the prestigious Woolcock Institute of Medical Research since 2012.

Author, co-author or editor of approximately 200 publications, Professor Armour was a recipient of the Asthma Australia – Thoracic Society of Australia award, ‘for improving asthma management in the community’ in 2010.

Her leading role in respiratory medicine saw her served on the National Asthma Council’s Pharmacy Advisory Group in 2003 and from 2007-2017. She was chair of the council’s Review of National Asthma Strategy in 2008-2009, as well as a member of the Asthma Expert Advisory Committee, 2006-2010.

Professor Armour was a founding member of the Women for Pharmacy Committee, and served on the committee from 2002 to 2010.

Also well-known to many in pharmacy is Professor Rhonda Galbally AO, who was made a Companion (AC) in the General Division of the Order of Australia: “For eminent service to the advancement of social equity, particularly to the health and welfare of people with a disability, and to the community”.

In a long and distinguished academic and public service career, Professor Galbally has held a number of health related roles, but in a pharmacy context is best known for the so-called Galbally Review – or the “Review of drugs, poisons and controlled substances legislation“.

In 2005, this report recommended, among other findings, continuing separate S2 and S3 medicines schedules, and for the first-time listing recommended prices for S3, S4 and S8 medicines.


Previous MHR deadline looming
Next Recognised by the nation

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.


  1. Karalyn Huxhagen

    Congratulations to all of the recipients. We are very blessed that our profession has so many remarkable health professionals who strive hard and give so much of their own time and energy to improve the health of our community. well done and thank you to those who made the effort to put in the nominations. it is not an easy task and it is so pleasing to see pharmacists being recognised as Australians of worth.

  2. Debbie Rigby

    Congratulations to all these great pharmacists receiving these awards.
    My special congratulations to Geraldine. It’s worth noting her AM is for “significant service to medicine as a pharmacist, particularly through advisory and educational roles.” Geraldine has numerous roles with other health professionals and their organizations and uni courses; always championing the knowledge and skills of pharmacists whilst empowering dentists, optometrists, nurses and medicine to understand quality use of medicines.
    This helps raise the profile of pharmacists as an integral part of the health system.

    • Geraldine Moses

      Thank you AJP and thank you Debbie for making that distinction . Also can I just clarify that I have been a qualified a consultant pharmacist with AACP since 2001, but have been employed as Consultant to the Australia Dental Association since 2013.

Leave a reply