Cream of WA’s pharmacists announced

WA's pharmacists: young pharmacist of the year Kenny Lee with supervisor A/Prof Lynne Emmerson

The best of WA’s pharmacists have been acknowledged at the Western Australian Pharmacists Award night in Perth.

Pharmaceutical Society of Australia WA Branch President, Teresa Di Franco, said the event brought together the best and brightest of the profession in the state.

“The quality of candidates for the Excellence Awards was exceptional this year and judges remarked on just how difficult their task was,” Di Franco said.

“The three pharmacists who have been awarded this year displayed exceptional skills, commitment and innovative practices. They are a credit to the great profession of pharmacy and their work further helps to cement the reputation of pharmacists as leading healthcare professionals in this country.

The winners of the WA Excellence Awards were:

WA Young Pharmacist of the Year: Kenny Lee – for connecting WA Pharmacists through the WA Pharmacy Discussion Forum.   Mr Lee planned from the start the goals and focus of the WA Pharmacy Discussion Forum and undertook the necessary work to ensure this was a relevant and useful tool for pharmacy practitioners.

His goal was to keep pharmacists up to date, as he realised that to move forward as competent practitioners, pharmacists need the most up-to-date answers for the health consumer. He also has a strong interest in laws and ethics with a focus on what would pharmacists need help with in what can be a challenging system.

“I’ve always believed that we should act on our ideas, rather than wait around for someone else to eventually act. I didn’t think that my personal philosophy would lead to anything. I am still in disbelief, but am very humbled to be this year’s recipient,” says Lee.

“Studying Pharmacy at Curtin has really fostered my enthusiasm and desire to act on my ideas. The enthusiasm shared by many staff at the School of Pharmacy have clearly rubbed off on me, and the encouraging support they have provided me – particularly my Honours and PhD supervisors – have helped shape me as a person

WA Pharmacist of the Year: Bridgett McKay who has been a mentor to many pharmacists and gives her time on a range of committees. Ms McKay has for many years been the WA secretary of the PDL Local Advisory Committee and her patience and non-judgmental attitude has provided much support and care to her colleagues.

She wears many pharmacy hats – her roles as a pharmacist at SCGH and Poisons Information Centre demonstrate her flexibility as a pharmacist to adapt to the many different jobs and situations she comes across. She was the proprietor of perhaps Australia’s smallest pharmacy when she owned London Court Pharmacy.

WA Life Time Achievement Award: Dr Phillip Passmore  PhD Msc Econs (Epidemiology and Health Planning) BSc Assoc, FPS, Adjunct Senior Lecturer at the School of Pharmacy Curtin University of Technology. Dr Passmore has worked tirelessly for over 30 years in the advancement of pharmacy, pharmaceutical services and quality use of medicines in South-East Asia, Africa and Australia.

Dr Passmore has been an advocate for the pharmacy profession and has passionately discussed the raison d’etre for the pharmacy profession is based upon the agreement that medicines are a unique, vital and strategic commodity for the prevention of illness and disease and the maintenance or restoration of health.

Previous Food shortages among ATSI people highlighted
Next Frequent GP user survey shows coordination need

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

No Comment

Leave a reply