Lifetime achievement recognised

Tasmanian Pharmacy Lifetime Achievement Award winner Mark Dunn (centre) pictured with Professor Greg Peterson from UTAS and PSA Tasmania President Ella Van Tienen.

Well-known pharmacist and AJP consultant editor Mark Dunn has won the Tasmanian Pharmacy Lifetime Achievement Award

Dunn was honoured at a dinner hosted by the PSA, Pharmacy Guild, SHPA and University of Tasmania in Hobart on Saturday 12 November.

Other winners included Tasmanian Pharmacist of the Year Susan Lee, from the Valley Road Pharmacy in Devonport, and Rebecca Wyatt who won the 2016 Early Career Pharmacist Award (posthumously nominated).

Dunn is a consultant editor at the Australian Journal of Pharmacy as well as the founder of AusPharm.

PSA Tasmania President Ella Van Tienen congratulated Dunn, saying he was highly respected as an innovator in the pharmacy profession.

“As the former owner of Australia’s southern-most pharmacy in Dover, Mr Dunn has experienced the professional isolation of a rural pharmacist. To help overcome the tyranny of distance, Mark embraced emerging technologies and established AusPharmList to support pharmacists,” Van Tienen said.

SHPA Tasmania Chair Duncan McKenzie said Rebecca Wyatt, from Launceston General Hospital, was posthumously named Early Career Pharmacist Award winner. Her award was accepted by her parents Christine and Chris Wyatt.

“Rebecca – who sadly passed away earlier this year – was profoundly involved in Tasmania’s pharmacy profession. As a pharmacy student, she was the TAPS President and an active SHPA member. She later became a specialist ICU pharmacist and medical team leader actively involved in the education of others,” McKenzie said.

Pharmacy Guild of Australia Tasmanian Director Greg Luckman said Susan Lee won the Tasmanian Pharmacist of the Year award due to her professionalism and humanity.

“Susan is an excellent mentor and role model for any pharmacist who works or wants to work in the profession. Her morale within the workplace shines and it can be attributed to the wonderful, encouraging person who not just owns the pharmacy, but works alongside her staff,” Luckman said.

In a separate ceremony, Laura Perry received the PSA Tasmanian Intern of the Year Award for 2016. Perry works as an intern pharmacist at Mersey Community Hospital.  She received a MIMS $2000 grant to attend PSA17 in Sydney.

Previous Consumer satisfaction results rate professional services
Next Not all happy with UK sore throat service

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.


  1. Kevin Hayward

    Well done Mark. When I first encountered Auspharm, many years ago, I has been working as a clinical governance facilitator. One of the cornerstones of our work at the time was to develop a culture of practitioners sharing best practice. Auspharmlist and its successor ticked every box for me. Thanks.

  2. David Haworth

    Congrats Mark…. well deserved

  3. David Weston

    Warmest congratulations, Mark, from everyone at the AJP on this richly deserved award.

Leave a reply