New PSA National President to tackle recognition, remuneration

Dr Chris Freeman, Dr Shane Jackson and Michelle Lynch.

PSA has announced Tassie pharmacist Shane Jackson will be taking over the presidency from 1 July

Dr Shane Jackson, who holds a PhD in Pharmacy Practice, has been elected as President by the National Board of the PSA today (Thursday).

Dr Jackson says he’s “greatly honoured” and “proud” to have been elected to the leadership role.

“I am delighted to take on this role and I look forward to working with the National Board, PSA’s elected officials, executive team and all members to ensure we continue to collaborate to have a viable and sustainable future for all pharmacists, and assist members deliver excellence in pharmacist care,” Dr Jackson says.

First on his agenda is to increase the recognition of pharmacists for their training and skills, and advocate for better remuneration for the profession, he tells AJP.

“Essentially pharmacists as professionals are medicines experts. I want pharmacists to be recognised by the public and health professionals for that expertise,” says Dr Jackson.

“Unfortunately we don’t have the recognition that we should for the training and skills we have. We really need to make sure that people are aware of that.

“Better remuneration is also a significant issue for our members, and we need to make sure they are adequately remunerated for their significant experience and training,” he tells AJP.

From 2006 to 2010, Dr Jackson was a PSA National Board Director, and from 2008 to 2014 he was President of PSA’s Tasmanian Branch.

He has also worked as a Consultant Pharmacist within the aged and community care settings.

In addition to being incoming PSA National President, Dr Jackson is also owner of two community pharmacies in Tasmania, Clinical Reference Lead with the Australian Digital Health Agency, a Director of the Australian Association of Consultant Pharmacy, and Chair of the Pharmacy Practitioner Development Committee.

“I have a good team around me,” says Dr Jackson. “Fortunately I’m surrounded by great people who keep me grounded.

“Every time I go into the practice I learn something that I can then apply in my advocacy roles.”

Outgoing president Joe Demarte has served in the role since July 2015.

Dr Jackson said Mr Demarte has been instrumental in helping guide the pharmacist profession.

“Within the pharmacy profession, Joe has been a driver behind funding for clinical interventions and MedsChecks. Thanks to Joe’s leadership and support, PSA has lifted its profile to become an organisation that is now widely recognised as the peak national body for all pharmacists across Australia.”

PSA’s National Board also re-elected Michelle Lynch and Dr Chris Freeman as National Vice-Presidents, and Early Career Pharmacist (ECP) Director Taren Gill for another term.

“Having Shane Jackson elected has given us a real sense of energy moving forward,” says Dr Freeman.

“PSA has a lot coming up in its agenda … to help pharmacists reach their potential.

“There’s genuine excitement and intent about moving the profession forward.”

Previous Pricing overhaul
Next Clinical tips: ear care

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

No Comment

Leave a reply