NSW PSA names its pharmacists of the year

Hand writes "and the winner is"

The NSW Branch of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia has recognised three of its members for their outstanding achievements in the profession.

Awards in the following categories were announced:

  • NSW Lifetime Achievement – Chris Piggott;
  • NSW Young Pharmacist of the Year – Catherine Bronger; and
  • NSW Pharmacist of the Year – Tabitha Jones.

Lifetime achievement award recipient Chris Piggott has been a tireless promoter of pharmacy for more than 50 years, says PSA, and has demonstrated consistent professional leadership through his role in the Newcastle and Hunter Valley Pharmacists’ Association, and as a business owner in the region.

He also was a leading driver behind the establishment of the Master of Pharmacy Program at the University of Newcastle, where he continues to teach Pharmacy Management.

Young Pharmacist of the Year Catherine Bronger has achieved success in both commercial and professional aspects of community pharmacy and her outstanding business acumen and service focus marks her as an innovative role model for future industry leaders.

Bronger’s leadership offers a pathway for pharmacists to advance their practice from being product-driven to becoming more customer-oriented.

Pharmacist of the Year Tabitha Jones completed her Bachelor of Pharmacy with honours at CSU Wagga Wagga and has been an inspirational advocate for pharmacy in regional NSW, initially working in hospital pharmacy then moving to community pharmacy.

She gained accreditation to perform medication reviews early in her career, and went on to become a facilitator and educator with the Central West Division of General Practice and Community Liaison Officer with the Western NSW Medicare Local, where she is currently the Integration Project Officer.

In this role she looks to embed existing professional pharmacy services into patient care pathways, understand the challenges of current models of care and break down the barriers for pharmacists to be part of the multidisciplinary healthcare team.

Previous Clinical tips: nappy rash explained
Next Aussies sitting too much, risking heart disease

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.