Pharmacists honoured

Gabrielle Cooper

Leading pharmacists have been recognised in the 2017 Australia Day honours

Former ACT PSA president Professor Gabrielle Cooper was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia in the general division (OAM) in yesterday’s Australia Day honours list.

Professor Cooper was honoured for “service to the pharmacy sector, and to tertiary education”.

She was a PSA National Board Member and ACT branch president from 2011 to 2013, and still serves on the ACT branch committee.

Professor Cooper was a Committee Member and Deputy Chair of the Australian Pharmacy Council from 2010-2014, and has been a member of the ACT branch of the Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia since 1985. 

In academic life she has been Professor of Pharmacy, Faculty of Health at the University of Canberra since 2005, serving as Associate Dean, Clinical Engagement from 2010-2013. She established the pharmacy program at the university, starting as an associate professor in 2003.

Professor Cooper has worked as a hospital pharmacist from 1985 at a range of hospitals in Australia and the UK.

Also recognised was Mary Hemming, SHPA president from 1983 to 1985. She was named an Officer in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AO) for “distinguished service to community health as a leader and consultant in the development of therapeutic and pharmaceutical guidelines, nationally and internationally”.

Among her accomplishments are serving as a member of the Commonwealth Government Pharmaceutical Health and Rational Use of Medicines Committee (developed the original National Medicines Policy): 1991-1994, Senior Pharmacist at Royal Melbourne Hospital from the 1970s-1990s, consultant pharmacist at the Department of Health and Community Services Victoria, 1975-1986 and as an SHPA councillor from 1979-1985.

Ms Hemming was Editor, Therapeutic Guidelines, ‘for several years from 1978, and was also the inaugural CEO of not-for-profit publisher Therapeutic Guidelines Limited. 

Former Medicines Australia director Dr Graeme Blackman was awarded the AO for “distinguished service to the pharmaceutical industry, to scientific research and policy development, to theological education and the Anglican Church of Australia, and to aged care”.

Dr Blackman, Chair and Non-Executive Director of National Stem Cell Foundation of Australia was a director of Medicines Australia (formerly Australian Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association), from 1995-2013 and its deputy chairman from 1998-2000. He has been director (and founder) of IDT Australia Ltd (formerly Institute of Drug Technology Australia Ltd), since 1986.

Previous Forum: Refer-to-Pharmacy and Medicines Optimisation
Next Underrecognition, low wages: pharmacy's biggest challenges

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

No Comment

Leave a reply