Calling all innovators

UTS Innovative Pharmacist of the Year 2016 Dr Alison Roberts, pictured with Professor Attila Brungs, Vice Chancellor, UTS (left) and Dr Alan Paul, Senior Medical Director, AstraZeneca Australia and New Zealand (right)

Got someone in mind for the UTS Innovative Pharmacist of the Year Award 2017? Get your nominations in now!

At UTS, we break the mould.

We produce graduates that are ready to unlock the future of pharmacy. We also recognise and celebrate those who are leading the way – with the Innovative Pharmacist of the Year Award.

This annual award recognises those in the profession who are redefining pharmacy. Our partner Astra-Zeneca is once again sponsoring this initiative with a $5,000 grant that goes towards to the winner’s professional development.

So how do we define innovation in pharmacy?

In our eyes, it’s about discovery. It’s being agile, and putting the patient at the centre of everything we do. It’s the act of exploring and implementing new methods that not only improve our current practice but promote progress in the profession.

The five criteria upon which the Innovative Pharmacist of the Year award is judged are:

Originality: What new concepts or variations on existing ideas in practice delivery have been developed?

Impact: To what degree is the concept a fundamental change to traditional practice?

Practicality: Are the innovations easily implemented into existing business models and practice?

Benefits: Has the innovation demonstrably improved the health outcome of patients and increased the revenue of the business?

Applicability: Can the innovation be easily adopted by other pharmacies?

We encourage you to nominate yourself or others. Click here to submit your nomination, addressing each of the above criteria.

Entries close on Friday 13 October 2017 and the winner will be announced at the annual UTS Pharmacy Gala Dinner on Wednesday 1 November 2017.

Past winners:

2016: Dr Alison Roberts (pictured above), formerly of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA), received the 2016 award for leading the creation of the Health Destination Pharmacy program, an evidence-based change initiative that helps pharmacies transition to a professional services business model.

2015: The 2015 winner was Swarup Afsar, owner of Pharmacy 777 in Western Australia for his innovative Mental Health Module in Community Pharmacy. Swarup’s innovation was to implement a counselling service that provides solution-focused psycho-dynamic therapy, cognitive behavioural therapy and hypnotherapy.

2014: The 2014 winners were the Queensland Pharmacist Immunisation Pilot implementation team from the Queensland branch of the PSA, who worked with 80 pharmacies to deliver a user-pays vaccination program over a period of five months. The project saw pharmacy professionals deliver more than 11,000 vaccinations to members of the public at a fee of $25-$30 each.

2013: Queensland pharmacist Joyce McSwan was recognised for her innovative work in the field of pain management. Joyce developed the Mackay Pain Support Group, in partnership with the Australian Pain Management Association, which provided pain management support to local GPs and made a community support group to patients.

2012: The inaugural winner was Gympie pharmacist David Dixon for his development of a sleep management service which helped patients to take control of their sleep health and receive the most appropriate treatment and support.

AJP is proud to be media partner of the UTS Innovative Pharmacist of the Year Award


Previous Breastfeeding friendly pharmacies?
Next Research Roundup

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

No Comment

Leave a reply