Recognised for contribution to meds management

Professor Michael Dooley and Dr Danielle Stowasser with her award.
Professor Michael Dooley and Dr Danielle Stowasser with her award.

Queensland pharmacist Dr Danielle Stowasser has been honoured with the prestigious Fred J Boyd Award 2017

Dr Danielle Stowasser was recognised by her peers at at the 43rd SHPA National Conference in Sydney this week as the chosen 2017 recipient of the Fred J Boyd Award.

Established in 1978, the Fred J Boyd Award is the most prestigious recognition given by the SHPA in memory of its founding president.

In presenting the award SHPA President Professor Michael Dooley noted the groundbreaking impact of Dr Stowasser’s work on establishing pre-admission clinical pharmacists, and developing a system of medication delivery liaisons.

“Danielle has led a range of initiatives to enhance safe and effective medicine use,” said Professor Dooley.

“This has been instrumental in improvements across Queensland – Danielle has been a wonderful contributor in implementing APAC guidelines, state wide pharmacy information management systems, and developing rural and remote support services in pharmacy departments across the state.”

A member of SHPA for 25 years, Dr Stowasser is currently an Electronic Medication Management Program manager at the Metro North Hospital and Health Service in Queensland.

On accepting the award, Dr Stowasser said: “It’s such an honour to be bestowed with the Fred J Boyd award, which recognises a visionary and so many visionaries after.

“My plea to those currently in leadership roles is to step up. Nothing is possible without leadership and vision, and today I call on all current and future leaders of hospital pharmacy to continue moving pharmacy forward across four key areas.

“These are: the endorsement of fully comprehensive meds management cycle, interoperability of medicines supply systems, robotics and automation as the Australian workforce ages and recognition of and training in pharmacy informatics.”

Dr Stowasser said this leadership could come from any corner of the profession.

“It’s not about your title, it’s how you use it that makes a difference. I implore all of you to be leaders, no matter how big or small your goal.”

“And, just as importantly, invest in the next generation – mentoring can yield years of benefits for both parties.”

Other nominees for the award were Dr Chris Alderman, Elizabeth Anderson and Karen O’Leary.

Previous New beginnings for pharmacy
Next The week in review

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

No Comment

Leave a reply