Stroke Foundation urges nominations

elderly woman with tennis racket

The Stroke Foundation is encouraging Australians to nominate an inspirational person in their community for a 2015 Stroke Award.

The National Stroke Foundation is urging locals to get their nominations in before applications close on 31 July 2015.

National Stroke Foundation National Director of Programs Toni Aslett says the Awards recognise the outstanding Australians dedicated to preserving the dignity, wellbeing and quality of life for stroke survivors and the broader stroke community

“Stroke affects more than 1000 Australians every week—about one person every 10 minutes,” she says.

“Its effects can be devastating. Helping stroke survivors and their families and carers negotiate the days, weeks and months after a stroke is vital work in our community.

“We want to sing the praises of those who carry out this important work and celebrate the stroke survivors, carers, health professionals and volunteers who improve the state of stroke in our country.

“In holding the awards, we also want to raise awareness of stroke and the challenges faced by stroke survivors and their families and carers.”

Nominations for the seventh annual awards are open until Friday 31 July. There are four award categories, each highlighting an area where people are working to improve the lives of people affected by stroke.

Aslett encourages Australians to nominate people in their community making a difference.

“Every day we see incredible examples of people going above and beyond to lessen the significant burden stroke places on our community,” she says.

“The Stroke Awards are one of the ways people can encourage support for stroke survivors, their families and carers, and increase awareness of how we can work together in the fight against stroke.

“I would encourage people to nominate the stroke champions in their community.”

To nominate for the 2015 Stroke Awards, go here.

The award categories are:

  • Life After Stroke Award:

Open to stroke survivors, carers, and volunteers who are making a big difference to the lives of survivors and raising awareness of their needs.

  • Stroke Care Champion Award (in conjunction with the Stroke Society of Australasia)

Open to health professionals and social care professionals who have demonstrated a long term commitment of at least five years in the field of stroke.

  • Creative Award

Open to stroke survivors in the community who are actively pursuing creative achievements.

  • Fundraiser of the Year Award

Open to individuals who have fundraised for the National Stroke Foundation through the Do it 4 Stroke program.

Previous How to handle the $1 pharmacy copayment discount
Next 'We support pharmacists to be pharmacists,' says AMA

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

No Comment

Leave a reply