Who is leading the way?

UTS innovative pharmacist award
Left to right: Professor Attila Brungs (Vice Chancellor at UTS), 2017 award winner Kayla Lee, Syd Cassimaty (AstraZeneca) and the NSW Education Minister Rob Stokes. Photo credit Grant Turner.

Nominations are now open for the 2018 Innovative Pharmacist of the Year Award

This annual award was initiated by UTS Pharmacy in 2012 in order to recognise, reward and celebrate those pharmacists who were breaking away from the traditional dispensing and supply model of practice by developing innovative new service based models which would better engage with consumers.

AstraZeneca will again sponsor and support the award by providing a $5,000 grant for the professional development of the winner.

Kayla Lee was the 2017 UTS Innovative Pharmacist of the Year. Kayla was inspired to make positive change in her community after the tragedy of losing her father when he took his own life. She saw a gap in the way pharmacists discussed mental health and devised Pharmafriend to fill it. Pharmafriend is a novel program that was implemented at Capital Chemist Wanniassa; it fundamentally changes the way pharmacists interact with patients.

The criteria upon which the award is judged are:

  • Originality: What new concepts or variations on existing ideas have been developed? Have these developments been achieved independently or with help of others?
  • Impact: Is the concept or variation a fundamental change to common practice or a minor development? Will it lead to other innovations?
  • Practicality: Are the innovations easily integrated into existing practice? Are they cost-effective? Do they come with risk?
  • Measurable benefits: Has the innovation increased revenue, efficiencies, cost savings?
  • Applicability: Can the innovative practice be easily adapted by other pharmacists? Can they be used internationally?

Nominations should address each of the above criteria.

Nominations are now open for the 2018 Award and can be submitted to UTS Pharmacy: uts.edu.au/gsh-pharmacist-year

Entries close on the 16th November at 11pm. The winner is announced at the UTS Pharmacy Gala Dinner on 13th December 2018.

For further information please contact Warwick Plunkett.

Previous Down the drain
Next Research Roundup

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

No Comment

Leave a reply