A new addition for PSS

Dr Faye McMillan.

The Australian Pharmacy Council has become a member of the Pharmacists’ Support Service subsequent to a change in the PSS constitution

This change adds the APC to the other eight pharmacy bodies who are already members of PSS.

Associate Professor Faye McMillan, a Wiradjuri yinaa (woman) from Trangie NSW, will represent APC on the PSS Board.

Associate Professor McMillan, an APC Board director, works at Charles Sturt University and holds a Doctor of Health Science, a Master of Indigenous Health Studies, Bachelor of Pharmacy and is Australia’s first registered Aboriginal pharmacist.

In addition shehas a particular interest in mental health and is currently completing a Diploma in Counselling.

John Coppock, PSS President said that, “We are delighted to welcome APC involvement in PSS.

“APC has a critical role accrediting Australian pharmacy education programs and assessing competency of pharmacists prior to registration.

“These foundational activities undertaken by APC are essential in setting the scene for the wellbeing of pharmacists throughout their career.

“We particularly welcome Faye as she will bring a new perspective to PSS with her background in indigenous health and her experience in education.” 

Mr Coppock also noted that PSS is owned by the pharmacy profession, through these organisations, who have all invested in PSS rather than replicating services to support the health and well-being of pharmacists.

The full list of member organisations on the PSS Board and their representatives is as follows:

  • Australian Friendly Societies Pharmacies Association (AFSPA) – Peter Fell
  • Australian Pharmacy Council (APC) – Faye McMillan
  • National Australian Pharmacy Students’ Association (NAPSA) – Kathryn Mayanja
  • Pharmaceutical Defence Ltd (PDL) – Curtis Ruhnau
  • Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA) – Jarrod McMaugh
  • Pharmaceutical Society of Victoria Ltd (PSV) – John Jackson (PSS Vice-President)
  • Pharmacy Guild of Australia (PGA) – Stan Goma
  • Professional Pharmacists Australia (PPA) – Cardin Le
  • Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia (SHPA) – Jerry Yik (PSS Treasurer)

There are also four representatives of the PSS volunteers on the Board including PSS President, John Coppock. Kay Dunkley is the Executive Officer and Secretary.

The Pharmacists’ Support Service is a charity which focuses on the mental health and wellbeing of the Australian pharmacy profession.

Pharmacists can contact PSS by phone if they are are stressed, concerned about their mental health or need a listening ear. 

The PSS telephone is answered by volunteers who are experienced pharmacist or retired pharmacists who have undertaken training in crisis support counselling.

PSS is available to all pharmacists, interns, students, overseas pharmacy graduates seeking registration in Australia and during the COVID-19 pandemic to all pharmacy staff.

PSS provide anonymous and confidential support over the phone every day of the year between 8.00am and 11.00pm AEDT by phoning 1300244910.

For more information about PSS visit its website at www.supportforpharmacists.org.au or follow it on facebook https://www.facebook.com/supportforpharmacists/ or twitter @AusPharmSupport.

Previous World news wrapup: 12 November 2020
Next Wizard a winner… again

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

No Comment

Leave a reply