A strategic vision

board meeting conference room

Guild announces new National Council Committees and Chairs

The Pharmacy Guild of Australia’s new National Council have recently met in South Australia to bring on board its new councillors.

This new National Council will be focused on leading the organisation and its members towards the Guild’s Centenary in 2028 and beyond, the member body stated.

To support that long-term strategic vision, the Guild has established new National Council Committees on dedicated areas that include government and public relations, workplace relations, health economics and policy, clinical governance and corporate governance and services.

The five new Council Committees focused on the agreed strategic areas will be chaired by National Councillors with the support of the branches and the national secretariat. 

New Council Committee and Chairs include:

  • NSW Branch President David Heffernan, Chair of Government & Public Relations Committee
  • ACT Branch President Simon Blacker, Chair of Clinical Governance Committee
  • Victorian Branch President Anthony Tassone, Chair of Health Economics & Policy Committee
  • Tasmanian Branch President Helen O’Byrne, Chair of Workplace Relations Committee
  • Queensland Branch President Chris Owen as Chair of Corporate Governance & Services Committee

Guild national president Trent Twomey said: “I want to ensure that we are set up for the Centenary of the Guild. This new National Council will be absolutely focused on ensuring that our members are ready and supported for the changes that are coming for their business, their workforce and for their profession.

“From the very young to our older citizens, from the cities to the outback, community pharmacy is there helping people to achieve better health and wellness outcomes for all Australians,” said Prof Twomey.

“I want all of our existing, and future members to be able to practice to their full scope by the Guild’s Centenary.”

Previous World news wrapup: 1 April 2021
Next Pharmacy leaving no one behind…

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

1 Comment

  1. Bruce ANNABEL

    Congratulations to Anthony Tassone An excellent appointment

Leave a reply