An outstanding contribution

Marc Apolloni AACP Board Chair, Dr Manya Angley and Robert Best CEO and Director MIMS Australia and New Zealand

Dr Manya Angley is the AACP MIMS Consultant Pharmacist of the Year for 2021

Dr Manya Angley was announced as the 2021 Australian Association of Consultant Pharmacy (AACP) MIMS Consultant Pharmacist of the Year at ConPharm, held in Adelaide over the weekend.

She was presented with the award by Robert Best, CEO of MIMS Australia.

First presented in 2008, the annual Consultant Pharmacist of the Year award recognises and celebrates the outstanding contribution by a consultant pharmacist who is making a difference to patients’ lives through the practice of consultant pharmacy.

Dr Angley was recognised for her medication safety advocacy for people living with disabilities.

Dr Angley was recognised for her medication safety advocacy for people living with disabilities.

She has been accredited with the AACP since 2010 and runs her own consultancy, Manya Angley Research and Consulting (MARAC).

“Dr Angley has made an outstanding contribution to the practice of consultant pharmacy and is a strong advocate for the role of accredited pharmacists in the promotion of the quality use of medicines and positive health outcomes for all,” said the AACP.

Dr Angley, a Fellow of the Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia (SHPA), is passionate about ensuring people with intellectual and developmental disability receive the best health care available.

In September 2020, she provided powerful testimony to the Royal Commission into Violence, Abuse, Neglect and Exploitation of People with Disability where she spoke of issues with inappropriate use of medicines and how accredited pharmacists can contribute their skills and knowledge to interdisciplinary teams for people with disability.

Dr Angley also advocated for greater empowerment of pharmacists to report improper use of chemical restraint.

“It was a privilege to provide a testimonial at the Disability Royal Commission in September and highlight the opportunities for pharmacists to upskill and play a greater role in providing better health care to people with disability, especially intellectual disability,” Dr Angley shared with SHPA at the time.

Dr Angley received a medallion, certificate and a travel grant to the value of $5,000 to attend a pharmacy conference of relevance to the practice of consultant pharmacy.

Previous winners since the award began include Neil Petrie (Vic), 2019; Andrew Stafford (WA), 2018; Natalie Soulsby (SA), 2017; Jenny Gowan (Vic), 2016; Joy Gailer (SA) and Shane Jackson (Tas), 2015; Chris Freeman (Qld), 2014; Deidre Criddle (WA), 2013; Sue Edwards (SA), 2012; Paul Hannan (NSW), 2011; Penny Kraemer (NSW) and Peter Tenni (Tas), 2010; Jeff Hughes (WA), 2009; and Debbie Rigby (QLD), 2008.

Previous Pharmacy AI for fast, safe dispensing
Next Failure to question GP leads to reprimand

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

No Comment

Leave a reply