Bill Kelly elected chair of Pharmacy Board

head and shoulders shot of Bill Kelly

The Pharmaceutical Society of Australia has congratulated well known pharmacist Bill Kelly on his appointment as Chair of the Pharmacy Board of Australia.

Announcing the appointment, the Minster for Health, Sussan Ley, said Kelly’s succession to the leadership role reflects the depth and breadth of his skills and experience, including those gained serving on the Board as inaugural practitioner member from the Australian Capital Territory since 2009.

National President of PSA, Joe Demarte, congratulated Mr Kelly on being appointed Chair of the board.

“Mr Kelly’s career has spanned more than 50 years, including some 32 years military service,”  Demarte says.

“Bill’s long-standing and diverse career, serving the profession and the community, has been a shining example of excellence in our profession.

“His skills and talents were recognised with his appointment to the ACT Pharmacy Board where he has served for many years, including in the role of President.

“His appointment as chair of the national board is fitting recognition of his commitment, dedication and skills.”

Demarte also congratulated three new appointments to the Board:  Joy Hewitt, practitioner member from Victoria; Ben Wilkins, practitioner member from New South Wales, and Mark Kirschbaum, practitioner member from Tasmania.

“I also congratulate all those Board members who have been reappointed to their roles.”

Demarte also thanked outgoing Chair Steve Marty.

“Steve Marty was appointed in 2009 as the inaugural Pharmacy Board Chair and practitioner member from Victoria and has guided the board in its early years,” Demarte says.

“Mr Marty has been an inspiration to the profession and his legacy is one which will help to guide and inspire future generations of pharmacists.”

The Guild also congratulated Kelly on his appointment.

Guild National President George Tambassis says he looks forward to working with Kelly and the National Board on issues which affect pharmacy practice in Australia.

“The Guild trusts that under Bill’s leadership the Board will continue to be responsive to the needs of the profession and the community,” says Tambassis.

Upon his appointment, Kelly said that he was keen to working closely with the Guild and pharmacy stakeholders.

He will start as Chair from 31 August 2015.

Tambassis also thanked the outgoing Board members, especially the inaugural Chair, Steve Marty.

“Steve is an excellent leader who is highly respected in the pharmacy sector. The Guild thanks for his commitment and contribution and wishes him all the best,” Tambassis says.

“Mr Kelly’s succession to the leadership role reflects the depth of his skills and experience, having served on the Board since the establishment of the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme in July 2010.

“The Guild also welcomes the other new Board members Joy Hewitt, Mark Kirschbaum, Ben Wilkins and Michael Piu and thanks the other departing members Ian Huett and Gerard McInerney for their hard work and commitment to pharmacy practice and the profession.”

Previous Health Minister cautions as flu cases soar
Next Smoking a growing cause of female cancer death

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

No Comment

Leave a reply