Guild election results revealed

Who are the new branch committee members for the upcoming three-year term?

Results of the Pharmacy Guild Stage One branch elections, conducted by the Australian Electoral Commission, have been revealed.

New South Wales saw nominees battle it out across 12 districts, after the state changed its election process, requiring the 15 branch committee members to stand down.

John Black took the North Coast region, while the Mid North Coast and Hunter district went to Judy Plunkett in a close contest. Both nominees have been re-elected to the committee.

The Central Coast district, contested by four people, went to Robert King. Paul Jones took the Blue Mountains, Central West and New England district, seeing him re-elected to the Branch Committee, where he currently holds the roles of National Councillor and NSW branch Vice President.

Luke van der Rijt, Southcity Pharmacy Wagga co-proprietor and 2018 Pharmacy of the Year winner, gained 83% of votes to score the West and Far West district for New South Wales. He won against branch committee member Sally Sheehan, who will not be re-elected to the role.

NSW branch president David Heffernan took the South Coast district, Tim Hewitt the Illawarra and Southern Sydney district. Richard Walsh was elected to the Sydney and Eastern Suburbs district, beating branch vice president Caroline Diamantis and another competitor, Eric Chan.

Adele Tahan was re-elected to the NSW branch, taking the Inner West district, while Catherine Bronger scored South West Sydney, beating fellow committee member and branch senior vice president Feras Karem.

Mario Barone was elected the branch committee member for Greater Western Sydney, while Rick Samimi took the North Sydney and Northern Beaches district, in two further re-elections to the branch.

One of eight Queensland districts was contested, with the Sunshine Coast district going to James Lester.

Three of 12 districts were contested in Victoria—two in metropolitan Melbourne and one in regional Victoria.

In a close contest, District 2 went to Sam El-Ahmad, District 3 to Marylin Tsitonakis, and District 11 to Bruce Robertson.

Outgoing Guild national president George Tambassis elected not to re-run for his role representing District 4 on the Victorian branch, with Megan Kazantzis joining the role without contest. Brendan Green was elected uncontested for District 12 in the state.

Other uncontested new elections include Rebecca Young on the ACT Branch; Scott Chambers, Jason Martin and Brad Turner to the Tasmania Branch; Matthew Gillespie, Irfan Hashmi, Rabia Kajani and Greg Scarlett to the SA Branch.

Manjinder Singh (Wide Bay Burnett District) and Andy Hawken (Central Queensland District) are new additions to the Queensland branch.

The NT Branch looks different, with Lyn Frangos, Alexis Innes, Yong (Marcus) Leong, Travis Lindsay and Darryl Stewart joining the committee.

The remaining branch committee members in uncontested offices retain their positions.

Nominations for Stage Two elections to fill branch and national leadership positions are set to open in late November.

Previous The week in review
Next Grad job rates decline… but not for pharmacists

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

No Comment

Leave a reply