Hospital pharmacists vote

Jacinta Johnson 2019 Emerging Leader
Dr Jacinta Johnson, 2019 Emerging Leader

Hospital pharmacists have been recognised by their peers and the Emerging Leader of the Year named

Members of the Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia (SHPA) voted in droves for the achievements of their peers as the organisation’s final three awards of Medicines Management 2019, the 45th SHPA National Conference recognised individual and team innovation in Adelaide and across Victoria.

The Octupus’ Garden-themed Gala Dinner, concluding Australia’s largest annual scientific pharmacy conference, also saw Jacinta Costello named 2019 SHPA Resident of the Year, after a highly competitive live final on the Gold Coast.

In the 2019 SHPA Members’ Awards, Dr Jacinta Johnson was awarded Emerging Leader of the Year, Gemma Kemsley was awarded Technician of the Year and the team at TOPCare Cardiology Project at Ballarat Health Services was awarded Hospital Team of the Year.

SHPA Chief Executive Kristin Michaels says the standard of achievement was indicative of the depth of talent and innovation across Australia’s leading community of pharmacists and technicians.

“The high calibre of the nominees was outstanding, and showcased SHPA members’ achievements across important areas in hospital pharmacy, from medication safety and management and patient care, through to education and research and antimicrobial stewardship,” she said.

Jacinta Costello 2019 SHPA Resident of the Year
Jacinta Costello, 2019 SHPA Resident of the Year

Representing the SHPA SA/NT Branch, SHPA Vice President Dr Jacinta Johnson was recognised for the impact of her leadership on pharmacy practice education and research through multiple roles at the University of South Australia and SA Pharmacy, broad-reaching presentations and research publications, and the shaping of key developmental initiatives such as the SHPA Residency Program.

Representing the SHPA Vic Branch, Gemma Kemsley, Senior Pharmacy Technician at Alfred Health, was recognised for her training, education, credentialing and leadership of a large hospital pharmacy technician team and spearheading technician-led, ward-based, medication management services across multiple hospital departments and settings.

Also from Victoria and flying the flag for regional services, the TOPCare Cardiology Project team at Ballarat Health Services was recognised for their innovative telehealth cardiology pharmacist clinic. This unique pharmacist-led service has proven to increase the efficiency of cardiology outpatient clinic appointments, the accuracy of medicines information and patient safety and patients’ overall healthcare experience in Australia’s third largest inland city.

Gemma Kemsley 2019 Technician of the Year
Gemma Kemsley, 2019 Technician of the Year

Ms Michaels also congratulated Jacinta Costello from Austin Health on her achievements in the SHPA Residency Program.

“Jacinta’s research looked at opioid use following surgery, a key priority area for medication safety across Australia, and the subject of increasing clinical and community focus,” she said.

“Through her work, she has contributed to greater understanding of opioid prescribing at all-important transitions of care as patients move from the acute setting back into the community, and her dedication and passion have made her a truly deserving 2019 SHPA Resident of the Year.”

David Kong (TOPCare Ballarat) 2019 Hospital Team of the Year
David Kong, (TOPCare Ballarat) 2019 Hospital Team of the Year

Conference awards for MM2019 went to:

  • Best First-time Poster Presentation: ‘Waves of Change in Rural Pharmacy Workforce – Are you riding the wave of change?’ Euna Hwang, South East Regional Hospital, NSW
  • Best Poster Presentation: ‘Infliximab for the management of treatment resistant Central Nervous System (CNS) Vasculitis: A case report’, Anna Mejia, Eastern Health, Vic
  • Best Technician Poster Presentation: ‘Technicians and NUMs building stronger partnerships to optimise imprest services’, Melanie Anderson, John Hunter Hospital, NSW
  • People’s Choice Award for Best Poster: ‘Review of a pharmacist medication management plan referral program for a small private regional hospital’, Alyssa Pidgeon, Epic Pharmacy, St Vincent’s Hospital Lismore, NSW
  • Best Oral Presentation: ‘The PainChek® Story: Converting a Good Idea into Clinical Practice’, Professor Jeff Hughes, Curtin University of Technology, WA
  • Best First-time Oral Presentation: ‘Pharmacists’ role in identifying uncommon endocrinopathies associated with immune checkpoint inhibitors’, Niki Ferreira, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital, WA
  • Best Technician Oral Presentation: ‘Medicines Management Technicians (MMT) – progressive roles for pharmacy technicians’, Gemma Kemsley, Alfred Health, Vic .

Previous Help beat the resistance
Next Dangerous dispensing went unreported

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

No Comment

Leave a reply