John Coppock honoured with Lifetime Achievement Award

John Coppock

Pharmacist John Coppock, whose lifelong career has been focussed on his vision that the profession needs to be as united as possible in all things, has been named as the 2015 recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award at the PSA’s Excellence Awards announced in Sydney today.

Coppock, who was Chairman of PDL Ltd, was recognised for using his position and influence in encouraging various pharmacy organisations to work together for a united front to address issues of relevance or concern to the profession and health consumers.

Coppock says receiving the honour came initially as a great surprise.

“But this was quickly followed by many memories flooding back of the years I was actively involved in official pharmacy,” he says.

“Names such as Ern and Harry Braithwaite, Norman Cossar, Jim Matthews and Alan Russell – plus many others – immediately came to mind together with many meetings and occasions.

“I have always felt privileged to have had the opportunity to be involved in pharmacy organisations and obtained great satisfaction in helping fellow pharmacists. The conduit for good outcomes is conversation, placing yourself in the other person’s position and thinking how you would like to be treated.

“Thank you pharmacy for many great years and may pharmacists continue to serve the public to achieve great health outcomes.”

PSA National President Joe Demarte says Coppock had made a huge contribution to ensuring the profession remained as cohesive and strong as possible.

“John is a most worthy recipient of the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award and his contribution is ongoing. He has been a stabilising force and a guiding hand at times when the profession has needed this most,” Demarte says.

Brett Barons, General Manager Symbion, sponsor of the awards for the 11th consecutive year, congratulated Mr Coppock on his award.

“Apart from his work through PDL and the profession generally, John has been President of the Pharmacist Support Service since 2010. Through this independent voluntary organisation, he leads a team of committed volunteers in providing a support service to all pharmacists, interns and pharmacy students through a telephone support service,” Barons says.

“Symbion is proud to sponsor this award which honours a man who has contributed so much to the profession throughout his outstanding career.”

David Weston, CEO of APPco, publisher of the AJP, says, “One of John’s strengths has been his passion, support and advocacy for all areas of pharmacy.

“This is demonstrated by PDL’s ongoing support for pharmacy conferences and events, mentoring and student scholarships.

“John understands the complex role pharmacists have to negotiate as health care professionals, hence his continuing involvement in Pharmacists’ Support Service.”

Previous Amy Page named Young Pharmacist of the Year
Next Sussan Ley keen to see results of remuneration, location review

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

No Comment

Leave a reply