Pharmacists honoured in Australia Day list

Three pharmacists have been recognised in the 2018 Australia Day honours list

All three, including a PSA foundation councillor and a former president of the Pharmacy Board of NSW, were awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM).

Terry Irvine, a foundation councillor of the PSA when it first became a national body, was recognised for “service to the pharmacy profession”.

Mr Irvine served as a PSA councillor from 1977-1983.

A past member of the Pharmacy Board of the Northern Territory, he owned Darwin Pharmacy from 1955-1989 before moving to the NSW south coast, where he owned Cobargo Pharmacy from 2005-2009.

Terry was involved with local Rotary Clubs in both Darwin and Narooma, serving as president of both clubs.

Well-known NSW pharmacist Gerard McInerney was also awarded the OAM “for service to the pharmacy profession, and to the community”.

His long record of service includes stints with the Pharmacy Board of Australia as a practitioner member (NSW) 2009-2015, and chair of its Pharmacy Compounding Working Party, 2009-2015 and Notifications Committee, 2009-2012.

He was President of the Pharmacy Board of NSW from 2006-2009, having served on the Board from 1999.

A pharmacist since 1962, Mr McInerney has given long service in the mid-south coast town of Kiama, as owner of McInerney’s Pharmacy, Kiama from 1970-2007 and then co-proprietor of Priceline Pharmacy, Kiama, 2007-2013.

He served as president of the Illawarra Pharmacists’ Association.

A board member of Kiama Hospital for five years, Mr McInerney was a member of the local Lions Club, where he has been chair of its Cancer Care Trust since 1994.

He has also been a member of the Bachelor of Pharmacy External Advisory Committee, School of Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Science, Charles Sturt University, since 2010 and a member of the Expert Advisors Panel, Health Care Complaints Commission New South Wales, since 2014.

NSW pharmacist Julie Griffin was awarded the OAM for “service to women, and to the community”.

A pharmacist at Thornleigh Chemmart Pharmacy in northern Sydney from 1983-2010, Ms Griffin has been heavily involved in a range of women’s and community groups.

She was a board member and chair of the Grants committee for the Hornsby Ku-ring-gai Women’s Shelter from 2015-2017, treasurer of the Hornsby Ku-ring-gai Domestic Violence Network 2008-2017 and a Soroptimist International of Hornsby Representative Committee Member, 1993-2017, holding a number of offices in the latter group.

Ms Griffin has been organiser of the ‘Walk the Talk’ Community Program and March Against Domestic Violence, since 2014.

Among other figures who received Australia Day honours were:

*Former AMA national president Dr Mukesh Haikerwal, made a Companion (AC) of the Order of Australia.

Dr Haikerwal was AMA National President from 2005-2007, as well as serving as Chair, Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, 2014-2016 and head of Clinical Leadership, Clinical Safety and Stakeholder Management at the National E-Health Transition Authority (now the Australian Digital Health Agency), 2010-2013

*Professor John Turnidge, made an Officer (AO) of the Order of Australia for the advancement of health policy in the area of antimicrobial resistance, and to professional medical organisations.

He has been the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care’s senior medical advisor, Antimicrobial Use and Resistance in Australia project, since 2014.

He was chair of the National Health and Medical Research Council Expert Advisory Group on Antimicrobial Resistance, 2001-2010, and is the current chair of the NPS Antibiotic Resistance Reference Group.



Previous The week in review
Next Pain trial ‘a great move forward’

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

1 Comment

  1. JimT

    Congrats. to all

Leave a reply