Pharmacists honoured on Australia Day

A number of leading names in pharmacy have been recognised in the 2021 Australia Day Honours List

Dr Peter Carroll, former head of the AJP editorial board and recent PSA NSW president and Colonel Bill Kelly, leading military pharmacist and former chair of the Pharmacy Board of Australia are among the names in this year’s Australia Day Honours List.

Leading pharmacy academic, Professor Bill Charman, hospital pharmacist Rodney Whyte and former community pharmacist, Judith Ingham, were also honoured.

Dr Peter Carroll was made a Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia “For significant service to pharmaceutical education, and to community health”.

Peter Carroll has had a distinguished career in pharmacy academia and professional bodies.

He is currently a director and vice president of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia, New South Wales Branch, of which he was President from 2017 to 2020. He has served on the PSA NSW board since 1988.

Dr Carroll is also a former President and Dean of the Australian College of Pharmacy, and currently (since 2015) Professor of Pharmacology at the University of Notre Dame Australia School of Medicine.

He has also been an Honorary Professor, Discipline of Pharmacology, at the University of Sydney School of Medical Sciences since 2007.

Other roles include: 

  • Former Chair, Education Committee, Pharmacy Practice Foundation
  • Former National Director, Pharmaceutical Society of Australia, national branch  
  • Former Senior Lecturer in Pharmacology, Faculty of Medicine, University of NSW
  • Chair, Honorary Editorial Board of Specialists, MIMS Publications, 1980-2008.

Colonel William Kelly (Retd) was also awarded the AM “For significant service to pharmacy through a range of roles”.

Bill Kelly, who in 2019 was awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award by PSA, has dedicated a lifetime of service to military pharmacy and the Australian Army from 1969 to 1991, and army reserve from 1992 to 2003.

He was (among other posts):

  • Colonel Consultant Pharmacist, 1991-2002.
  • Chief Pharmacist, Directorate of Army Health Services, 1983-1989.
  • Officer Commanding, 231/232 Supply Company, Randwick NSW, 1978-1982
  • Pharmacist, ANZUK Military Hospital, Changi Singapore, 1971-1973.

Bill also held a vast range of posts in civilian pharmacy organisations, including:

Pharmacy Board of Australia

  • Chair, 2015-2018
  • Chair, Policies, Codes and Guidelines Committee, 2009-2015; Member, 2009-2018.
  • Deputy Chair, 2010-2015.

ACT Pharmacy Board

  • Chair, 2008-2010, Deputy Chair, 2005-2008 and Member, 1998-2010.

Australian Association of Consultant Pharmacy

  • CEO, 2003-2009.
  • Director, 1999-2003.

Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA)

  • Deputy CEO and Head, Professional Division, 1999-2003.
  • Director Professional Development, PSA and Consultant Editor, Australian
    Pharmacist, 1993-1997.
  • Vice-President, PSA ACT Branch Committee, since 2009; Member, since 2007.

He was also Executive Director of the Australian Friendly Societies Pharmacies Association from 2011-2016, Director of the Australian Institute of Pharmacy Management, 1992-2004 and Director of the Australian Pharmacy Council, 2008-2010.

Professor William Charman was awarded the Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia “For distinguished service to tertiary education, particularly to the pharmaceutical sciences, and to professional organisations”.

Professor Charman was Dean of the Monash University Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences from 2007-2019. He had previously been Associate Dean (Research) from 2003-2007.

A Professor at Monash since the 1990s (and previously a senior lecturer in Pharmaceutics at the Victorian College of Pharmacy), Bill Charman has been the Sir John Monash Distinguished Professor, since 2011.

He had also served in a number of roles with the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP), currently (since 2017) as a Member of the FIP Bureau/Board and the Executive Council, as well as being:

  • Chair, Education Bureau/Executive Committee, 2017-2021
  • Chair, FIPEd Steering Committee, 2015-2017.

Professor Charman has contributed to 370 published scientific papers and given 190 invited national and international presentations.

His awards and recognition include:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award, International Pharmaceutical Federation, 2014
  • Distinguished Scientist Award, Nagai Foundation Tokyo, Asian Federation for Pharmaceutical Sciences, 2014
  • Research Achievement Award, Pharmaceutical Sciences World Congress, 2007
  • International Career Achievement in Oral Drug Delivery Award, Controlled Release Society, 2006
  • Australasian Pharmaceutical Sciences Association Medal, 2005
  • Kamal Midha Award for Exceptional Leadership, International Pharmaceutical Federation, 2020.

Rodney John Whyte was awarded the Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia in the General Division: “For service to pharmacy, to professional societies, and to the community”.

Mr Whyte has been senior pharmacist at the Monash Medicines Information Centre since 1995. He has been with Monash Health since 1985.

Winner of the PSA Victorian Pharmacist Medal in 2017, Mr Whyte has served both PSA and the Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia (SHPA) in a number of capacities.  

A member of SHPA since 1979, he is a

  • Presenter and provider of information and advice for expectant and breastfeeding mothers and babies, ongoing.
  • Contributor, Medical Information Standards of Practice and Medicines Information Procedure Manual.
  • Former Member, Committee of Specialty Practice in Medicines Information, Publication Committee SHPA, Australian Injectable Drugs Handbook.

Mr Whyte is a PSA Victorian branch Area Coordinator, as well as a member of the Australian Birth Defects Society and an honorary consultant and invited speaker on medications and  breastfeeding/pregnancy for the Australian Breastfeeding Association since 1995.

Judith Ann Ingham was also awarded the OAM: “For service to the community, and to pharmacy”.

Mrs Ingham has practised as a pharmacist in various NSW pharmacies from 1957 to the late 1990s as well as providing a number of vital community services: 

  • Volunteer Reader, Writer and Exam Scribe (for disabled students), John Berne School, Lewisham, 2002-2016
  • Volunteer, various learning support roles, Holy Family School, Lindfield, 2016-2019
  • Volunteer, various administrative roles, Jesuit Mission, North Sydney, 1991-2018.
  • Volunteer, Butler Lodge (emergency shelter for women and children), St Vincent de Paul Society, Glebe, 1980s.

Previous Research Roundup
Next ‘Pharmacists need a seat at the table.’

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

1 Comment

  1. Jim Tsaoucis

    Congrats. to all…well deserved

Leave a reply