Pharmacists recognised on Queen’s Birthday

Two pharmacists awarded Queen’s Birthday honours for service to their local communities.

Long-serving Benalla pharmacist Philip Messenger was awarded a Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia in the General Division for service to the community of Benalla.

Messenger was pharmacist in charge of Amcal Benalla, Messenger’s Pharmacy from 1959 to 2005, as well as serving a Mayor of Benalla.

In his professional life, he was also Chairman of the Board of Amcal Chemists for 2 terms; vice chairman ‘for 2 terms’ and an Amcal board member for 18 years.

Mr Messenger was also honoured for his service as Mayor of Benalla City Council in 1967-68 and a Councillor from 1965 to 1973.

In addition, he has served the local community in a variety of other ways, including as a trustee of Benalla Art Gallery and Benalla Hospital, fifteen years’ service as vice-president of Cooinda Aged Care Facility, and as a long-standing member of Rotary Australia and Apex.

Also awarded the OAM was pharmacist Kwi Lan Ng for “service to the community of Appin”.

Ms Ng has owned Appin Pharmacy since 1997 and serves as an HMR assessor.

She has been a member of the Pharmacy Guild of Australia since around 1997 and the PSA since ‘circa 1993’, as well as a member of the Appin Chamber of Commerce and Appin Historical Society.

Other people of note to be recognised include:

  • Dr John D’Arcy O’Donnell – awarded on his Order of Australia Medal (AM). The Pharmacy Guild of Australia said: “Dr John D’Arcy has a long and productive association with the Pharmacy Guild of Australia. Through his role as a prominent medical broadcaster, he has championed the notion of ‘shared care’ – collaboration among doctors, pharmacists and other allied health professionals, always in the interests of patients”. Dr John produces a syndicated radio program called Health Check, which the Guild has sponsored for around ten years.
  • Professor David Le Couteur, a clinical pharmacologist who served on the Federal government Advisory Committee on the Safety of Medicines from 2013-2015, as well as on the Pharmaceutical Benefits Committee from 2009-2013. He was Chair of the PBS Drug Utilization SubCommittee and chair of the Australian Drug Evaluation Pharmaceutical SubCommittee. He was awarded the Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia.

Former Federal Minister for Health Dr Kay Patterson, awarded the AO.  She served as Minister for Health and Ageing from 2001-2003, among a variety of other public service roles.


Previous PSA educator honoured with award
Next Pay attention to the margins

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

No Comment

Leave a reply