PSOTY winner revealed

Zoe Robinson. Image: Supplied.

Zoe Robinson from the Queensland University of Technology is the Pharmacy Student of the Year

The Pharmacy Student of the Year (PSOTY) awards recognise and celebrate outstanding pharmacy students by showcasing their counselling skills to the pharmacy profession.

Ms Robinson was announced as the winner on Friday night, following the grand final competition which saw student finalists from across the country pitted against one another in a clinical knowledge standoff.

Dharshan Rasiah from the University of South Australia took out the People’s Choice award.

“It is heartening to see the future of our profession on show, demonstrating a high level of clinical knowledge, capability and passion,” said PSA National President Chris Freeman.

“Evidently, the future of pharmacy is incredibly bright. I congratulate Zoe on her achievement and would like to thank all the finalists in what was a difficult decision for the judging panel.

“This competition provides students the opportunity to demonstrate important skills such as gaining patient insights and patient understanding, active listening and skills that support positive patient outcomes,” he said.

“We commend each finalist for the professionalism they displayed when communicating with the patient, taking patient history, excluding serious medical conditions and subsequently arriving at an appropriate clinical recommendation.”

As winner of the national award, Ms Robinson has received a travel prize for pharmacy-specific education to the value of $5,000.

The other PSOTY 2021 finalists were:

  • ACT: Juliet Contreras (University of Canberra)
  • NSW: Stephanie Worden (University of Newcastle)
  • SA/NT: Dharshan Rasiah (University of South Australia)
  • TAS: Ashlee Shaw (University of Tasmania)
  • VIC: Alex Lotric (Monash University)
  • WA: Allira Payne (University of Western Australia)
  • NAPSA wildcard winner: Ma Christel Joyce Manuel (University of Western Australia)

Previous Eric Chan: Cultivating a relationship of trust between pharmacist and physician
Next Expanding the network

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

No Comment

Leave a reply