Pharmacy titan commended

Kos Sclavos “humbled” by Queen’s Birthday honour

Former Pharmacy Guild of Australia national president Kos Sclavos said he is “humbled” by being made a Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AM).

Mr Sclavos was recognised for a lifetime of service to pharmacy and community health, with his citation highlighting the award being given for “significant service to the pharmacy profession through a range of retail, advisory and executive roles, to education, and to community health”.

Posting on social media yesterday, Mr Sclavos said he was “very humbled to have been acknowledged in this way”.

Mr Sclavos went on to thank those in pharmacy, the broader community and the Greek community for their support.

He reserved special thanks for his wife Effie and daughter Nina (both also pharmacists) for their support and consideration during his career.

National President of the Pharmacy Guild, George Tambassis, said Mr Sclavos’s inclusion in the Order of Australia was well-deserved recognition of a powerhouse contribution to the pharmacist profession.

“Across many aspects of pharmacy, Kos has been an innovator with an ability to visualise the future, understand the changes required to deliver success and then work tirelessly to bring it to fruition,” Mr Tambassis said.

“Kos Sclavos’s leadership in developing and implementing a nationally accredited, quality assurance standard and system for community pharmacies remains one of his enduring achievements,” he said.

The career of Kos

Mr Sclavos’ citation highlights the immense service and achievements during his career. Service includes: 

Director, Terry White Group, since 2013. 

Board Member, Epilepsy Queensland Inc., since 2014. 

Senior Health Strategist, Sinapse Health, since 2013. 

Director, Hygeia Health Strategies (consultants), since 2013. 

Pharmacy Guild of Australia: 

National President, 2005-2013. 

National Councillor, 1996-2002, 2003-2013. 

President, Queensland, 1996-2002; 2003-2005 and Vice-President, Queensland, since 2013; 1994-1996. 

Chairman, Australian Pharmacy Professional since 2013; 2000-2005 and Committee Member since 1996. 

Board Member, / GuildLink, 2006-2013. 

Co-Founder, ‘Project Stop’, (Pseudoephedrine diversion monitoring system), 2005. 

Founder, Quality Care Pharmacy of the Year Awards, 2000. 

Founder and Chairman, Quality Care Pharmacy Program 1998-2005. 

Director, Guild Insurance and Financial Services (now Guild Group Holdings Ltd), 1996-2002. 

Director, Gold Cross Products and Services Pty Ltd, 1994-1996. 

President, Australian Institute of Pharmacy Management, 1996-2002 and Director, 1994-2002. 

President, Australian Institute of Pharmacy Management Queensland, 1992-1996. Founder and Author, Advanced Diploma in Community Pharmacy Management Course, 1995. 


Member, Pharmaceutical Services Federal Committee of Inquiry, since 2015. 

Committee Member, Pharmaceutical Health and Rational Use of Medicines (PHARM), 2004-2008. 

Member, Pharmacy Advisory Committee, Queensland Health, 1996-2004. 

Board Member, Australian Association of Consultant Pharmacy, 2006-2008. 

Feature Writer, ‘Pharmacy News’, since 2000. 


Member, Clinical Steering Committee, Medicinal Cannabis Trials, Queensland Health, since 2016. 

Assistant Commissioner for Allied Health Queensland, Health Quality and Complaints Commission, 2013-2014. 

Chairman, Health Professions Association of Queensland, 1996-2002. 

Working Group Member, Medical Benefits Fund (now BUPA), 1995-2002. 


Chairman, Queensland University of Technology, Pharmacy Advisory Committee, 2009-2012. 

Board Member, Pharmacy School, Queensland University of Technology, 2004-2009. 

Board Member, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Queensland, 1996-2005. 


Advisory Board Member and Ambassador, Change Day Australia, 2013-2016. 

Advisory Board, Health Workforce Australia, 2011-2014. 

Ambassador, Blue September, 2009-2013. 

Epilepsy Queensland The Little Poss Appeal, since 1997.

Awards and recognition: 

Honorary Life Member, Pharmacy Guild of Australia, 2013. 

Honorary Doctor of the University, Griffith University, 2008 ‘in recognition of distinguished contribution to the pharmacy profession and pharmacy innovation’. Recipient, Allied Health Worker of the Year Award, Epilepsy Queensland, 2005. 

Fellow Honoris Causa, Australian Institute of Pharmacy Management, 2001. 

Fellow, Australian Institute of Company Directors, 2001. Fellow, Australian Institute of Management, 2001. 

Fellow, Institute of Pharmacy Management International, 2000. 

Recipient, Young Pharmacist of the Year Medal, Pharmaceutical Society of Australia,1999. 

Recipient, Bowl of Hygeia Award, Pharmaceutical Society of Australia, 1998 ‘in recognition of the commitment to the development and introduction into Australia of the Quality Care Pharmacy Standards Program.’ 

Australian Pharmacy Management Championship Winner, 1993 and 2000. 

Fellow, Australian College of Pharmacy Practice, 1991.

Previous Valpam 5 5mg recalled over alleged medicine tampering
Next Recognising the profession

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

No Comment

Leave a reply