SA/NT pharmacy achievers honoured

Picture caption (L to R): Nora Lam, Sankit Lalseta, Sue Edwards, Natalie Soulsby and Sam Keitaanpaa
Picture caption (L to R): Nora Lam, Sankit Lalseta, Sue Edwards, Natalie Soulsby and Sam Keitaanpaa

SA and NT’s 2016 pharmacy achievers have been honoured at a PSA awards night

Pharmacy mentor, leader and clinical pharmacist Dr Natalie Soulsby won the SA/NT Pharmacist of the Year, which acknowledges an achiever within the profession who is involved in innovative practice, strives to raise practice standards, and through their professionalism, provides a model of practice which others strive to emulate.

PSA SA/NT President Sue Edwards says Dr Soulsby has established an exemplary and diverse model of pharmacy practice and was a mentor and leader for a busy national workforce of consultant pharmacists, leading by example and maintaining a dynamic consultant pharmacy practice in affiliation with a busy general practice and also providing Home Medicines Reviews for disabled people.

Ms Edwards says Dr Soulsby also worked with medical staff at the Royal Adelaide Hospital, providing Medication Reviews in the Multidisciplinary Ambulatory Clinical Service for patients referred by medical specialists and GPs.

“Dr Soulsby led operations for providers of consultant pharmacy services, overseeing a large team of pharmacists providing services for more than 16,000 residential aged-care beds nationally (including SA), as well as working collaboratively with many GP groups,” Ms Edwards says.

Intern pharmacist Sankit Lalseta from the Star Discount Chemist, Pasadena, was announced as the 2016 PSA MIMS Intern Pharmacist of the Year.

Ms Edwards said Sankit had shown a strong interest in learning to deliver professional services, particularly Home Medicines Reviews.

“Sankit has been actively involved with and positively contributed to the PSA Early Career Pharmacist Working Group as an intern representative. He has fostered close working relationships with his local GPs who have found his knowledge and engagement extremely valuable,” Ms Edwards says.

As part of the Award, Sankit will now attend PSA’s flagship conference PSA17 in Sydney from July 28–30. At PSA17, he will compete with other State and Territory winners for the coveted PSA MIMS National Intern Pharmacist of the Year Award. MIMS Australia is the leading sponsor of the Award and contributes the major prize of $2,000 to each State/Territory winner to be used to help advance their pharmacy career.

Sam Keitaanpaa was awarded the SA/NT Early Career Pharmacist Development Award sponsored by Hood Sweeney which celebrates a young achiever, less than 10 years post registration, who strives to raise practice standards and provide a model of practice others strive to meet.

Mr Keitaanpaa completed a Bachelor of Pharmacy with first class Honours from Charles Darwin University and is passionate about improving medicine delivery and support for remote communities.

Ms Edwards says Sam is a highly qualified clinical pharmacist with the knowledge and ability not just to perform but also to train and mentor others around him. He was awarded the Pharmacy Student of the Year 2012 (NT) and the Ian Marshall Award for Outstanding Commitment to Pharmacy Practice and is currently completing his PhD focusing on the barriers to implementation of smoking cessation in Indigenous Australians.

“Sam has recently developed a customised in-house pharmacy intern training program modelled after the AHPRA intern training principles,” Ms Edwards says.

The PSA Gold Medal was awarded to Nora Lam. It is awarded on completion of the Bachelor of Pharmacy at the University of South Australia to the student who has the highest grade point average (GPA) and has completed the program within four academic years, providing their final GPA is above 6.25. It is PSA SA/NT’s most prestigious student award.

The Life Fellow Award for more than 50 years’ contribution to PSA was awarded to Kym Laslett. Three new Life Members were also announced: Heather Simpson, Paul Kassapis and John Garrod.

Picture caption (L to R): Nora Lam, Sankit Lalseta, Sue Edwards, Natalie Soulsby and Sam Keitaanpaa

Previous Future focus at Rural Pharmacy Forum
Next A third of pharmacists fear for their job or business

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

No Comment

Leave a reply