The winners’ circle

The winners of the 2019 Pharmacy of the Year category awards have been announced

The category winners of the 2019 Pharmacy of the Year award have been revealed this morning by the Pharmacy Guild of Australia.

Announced this year in advance of APP2019, this year the Guild announced four winners, splitting the Excellence in Community Engagement award into two components, such was the quality of the six finalists.

The four winners are:

Excellence in Community Engagement, Collaboration and Partnerships – Pharmacy 777, Glengarry, WA


Excellence in Community Engagement, Health Services – Wilkinson’s Pharmacy, Burnie, Tas


Excellence in Business Management – Flannery’s Pharmacy, Forbes, NSW 


Excellence in Professional Innovation – Harding’s 24 hour Pharmacy, Annerley, Qld

The four pharmacies will be showcased at the award presentations Thursday, 7 March, at 8.30am at the APP conference, held on the Gold Coast.

The session will also feature the naming of the overall winner of the 2019 award who will be chosen from among the four category winners.

Spokesperson for the judging group Nick Panayiaris, President of the South Australian Branch of the Guild, said the judges this year had taken the unusual step of naming four category winners.

“Traditionally there are three category winners but the standard this year was of such exceptional quality that the judges decided an additional category winner was warranted,” Mr Panayiaris said.

“The four pharmacies named as category winners were outstanding in their development and adoption of innovative approaches to building viable businesses around the delivery of an increasing number and range of services to patients.

“They have redefined how they look and how they operate while never losing sight of the importance of maintaining a close relationship between the community and their business,” he said.

“These four pharmacies stand as great examples to the profession and the direction community
pharmacy is heading into the future.”

The Guild Pharmacy of the Year Awards, conducted annually by the Pharmacy Guild of Australia,
recognise pharmacies that are leading the way in providing innovative and optimal healthcare for
members of their community.

Previous Former pharmacist loses bid for reinstatement
Next No link between MMR vax and autism

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

1 Comment

  1. Nicholas Logan

    OMG These are all excellent pharmacies. Wouldn’t want to be in that contest.

Leave a reply