Australian wins highest international honour

One of Australia’s most distinguished pharmacists, Emeritus Professor Lloyd Sansom, has received one of the profession’s highest international honours

Professor Sansom was awarded the International Pharmaceutical Federation’s (FIP) André Bédat Award, at the opening ceremony of the 78th World Congress of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences in Glasgow, UK. 

The André Bédat Award is FIP’s highest pharmaceutical practice award and is given every two years. Previous Australian recipients are: former Pharmacy Guild national president Alan Russell (1992), Margaret Bickle (1996), John Bell (2004) and Professor SI (Charlie) Benrimoj (2010).

Professor Sansom has played a major role in the development of Australia’s National Medicines Policy and was the Chair of the Australian Pharmacy Advisory Council from 1990-2000. He has sat on numerous government and industry advisory groups, including the role for which he is perhaps best known serving as chair of the Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee from 2001 to 2012. 

Among his other roles, Professor Sansom is Chair of the Medication Reference Group of the Australian Safety and Quality Commission. He is a Fellow of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia and an honorary member of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain.

The award was recognised by PSA national president Shane Jackson, who commented on twitter is was “great to see global recognition of an Australian pharmacist who has led [Quality use of medicines] improvements in Australia and internationally”.


Previous Why Aussies use cannabis for medicinal purposes
Next Research Roundup

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

No Comment

Leave a reply