Changing of the guard

Incoming SHPA president Peter Fowler has paid tribute to Professor Michael Dooley, who has announced he is stepping down as SHPA president

Prof Dooley made the announcement during SHPA’s Medicines Management 2018 conference in Brisbane, which brought more than 1,300 pharmacists together.

This year Prof Dooley was named pharmacy’s third-top Agenda Setter by AJP readers.

Mr Fowler said Prof Dooley had overseen four years of strong financial growth enabling consistent investment in hospital pharmacists, technicians and pharmacy assistants.

“It is most fitting that we celebrate Professor Dooley’s presidency on stage at this record-breaking conference, such is his outsized impact and lasting legacy on our organisation,” he said.

“SHPA members are a buzzing community of medicines experts with more opportunities than ever to consolidate their practice, maximise their professional impact and improve patient care.

“The implementation of SHPA’s Specialty Practice, Residency Program, Mentoring Program and support for Advancing Practice credentialing, among many other initiatives, are all testament to Professor Dooley’s vision and passion to inspire others.”

In accepting the recognition from members, Prof Dooley reiterated the need to maintain focus on the future needs of the individual, the profession and broader healthcare.

“It has been my great honour to lead SHPA through a truly transformative phase as we plant seeds for the future,” he said.

“All of our achievements and each of our innovations has been made possible by the expertise and dedication of SHPA members, and their willingness to embrace new ideas and novel approaches to practice, which is essential to keep the profession moving forward.

Professor Dooley also announced the election of Dr Jacinta Johnson as Vice President and David Brennan as Treasurer, completing SHPA’s Board leadership team for 2019.

The PSA commended Prof Dooley and welcomed the new leadership team, including Dr Johnson, who was named Early Career Pharmacist of the Year earlier this year.

“Michael is a passionate leader who has inspired countless hospital pharmacists, technicians and pharmacy assistants to build their professional skills and give patients the best possible care,” said PSA president Dr Shane Jackson.

“He leaves a proud legacy of a growing and engaged hospital pharmacy sector with a focus on the future.

“Peter has extensive experience in the public hospital sector in Tasmania and I congratulate him on his new role.”

Dr Jackson also said Dr Johnson’s outstanding leadership among early career pharmacists would stand her in good stead in her new role at SHPA.

“I look forward to working with Peter, Jacinta and David in 2019 to continue developing new opportunities for pharmacists to be appropriately recognised and remunerated for their expertise.”

Previous Dig deep for distressed colleagues
Next New MHR legislation passes

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

1 Comment

  1. Alexander Wong

    Please bring Professor Dooley to the PSA or Pharmacy Guild and let’s see where the profession will be in 5 years time. #ThankYouProfDooley

Leave a reply