Dr Carolyn Glazier is WA Intern of the Year

Innovative pharmacist Dr Carolyn Glazier was named the PSA MIMS Western Australian Intern of the Year at the recent WA Excellence Awards

The Western Australian Early Career Pharmacist Award, Pharmacist of the Year and Life Time Achievement Award were also announced at the ceremony in Perth.

The PSA MIMS Intern of the Year Award recognises interns who have demonstrated exemplary performance and leadership skills in their development as professional pharmacists.

With a PhD in molecular biology, Dr Glazier is completing her internship at Gerald Burns Pharmacy, where she is an integral part of the team and developed significant resources for her local community.

PSA WA Branch President Teresa Di Franco, who presented the Award, congratulated Dr Glazier on her dedication to the profession.

“Dr Glazier has developed evidence-based training sessions for all pharmacy staff, encouraging them to discuss new concepts and ideas,” Ms Di Franco said.

“She has also initiated a pharmacist clinical discussion group for her colleagues to discuss case studies and the latest advances, sharing their experiences, opinions and creative problem-solving.”

As part of her Award, Dr Glazier will now attend PSA17 in Sydney from July 28–30, 2017.  At PSA17, she will compete with other State and Territory winners for the coveted PSA MIMS National Intern Pharmacist of the Year Award.

MIMS Australia has been publishing medicines information since 1963 and is the leading supplier of trusted, quality, independent medicine information to Australian healthcare professionals, known for its high level of editorial integrity and independence.

The major award winners included:

  • Pharmacy Practice Innovation Award: Lusi Sheehan, Pharmacy 777 Applecross Village – wound care services
  • WA Early Career Pharmacist Award: Luke Vrankovich, Roaming pharmacist and mental health advocate
  • WA Pharmacist of the Year: Steve Lewis, Pharmacist Proprietor – High Wycombe Pharmacy
  • WA Life Time Achievement Award:  Mr Malcolm Roberts.

Previous QUM network launches in SEQ, NSW
Next Robert F. Kennedy Jr and Robert De Niro offer $100,000 to anyone who can prove vaccines are safe

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

1 Comment

  1. Toorisugarino Isha

    Congratulations Dr Glazier. Good to see academics seeing the value in and furthering the practice of community pharmacy.

Leave a reply