Exceptional Tassie pharmacists recognised

Ilwoo Park (left) is presented with the Early Career Pharmacist of the Year Award.

Two community pharmacists have been honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award and Early Career Pharmacist of the Year Award

Dianne Brown has received the Lifetime Achievement Award and Ilwoo Park has claimed the Early Career Pharmacist of the Year Award, as part of the 2020 Tasmanian Pharmacist Awards hosted by the PSA, Pharmacy Guild, SHPA and the University of Tasmania.

Despite the Tasmanian Pharmacy Dinner being cancelled due to COVID-19 restrictions, Ms Park received her award from PSA Tasmania Branch President Dr Ella van Tienen this week.

Ms Brown will be presented with her award by Tasmanian Minister for Health Sarah Courtney on Friday.

Dr van Tienen congratulated both winners—grassroots pharmacists that have played key roles in serving their communities.

“This year, more than ever, we need to celebrate pharmacists on the frontline who have kept their doors open, provided essential medicines, PPE and advice,” she said.

“Dianne’s commitment to community pharmacy and in particular the community of Ravenswood where she has owned the pharmacy and practised for the past 35 years is to be commended.

“Dianne began her pharmacy career 45 years ago and her unconditional devotion to the healthcare of the people in the communities that she has served is undeniably a true testament to a loyal, hard-working, honest, reliable grassroots professional.”

Dr van Tienen also paid tribute to Ms Park, describing her as a highly motivated early career pharmacist who is committed to her practice, patients and giving back to the profession.

“Ilwoo brings her enthusiasm and professionalism to every task and has become involved within the local community as a volunteer Ambulance Officer and a member of the local Rotary Club,” she said.

“Having worked in a number of pharmacies in Western Australia and Tasmania, Ilwoo is often sent in to help get pharmacies back on track and the future is in very safe hands with early career pharmacists like her coming through the ranks.”

Tasmanian Pharmacy Guild President John Dowling also paid tribute to the award winners.

“It’s fantastic to recognise hard working community pharmacists who turn up every day and serve their local communities, ensuring medication safety and adherence for patients and making in some cases lifelong connections,” he said.

“We find that when community pharmacists are nominated for this award they often state ‘but I haven’t done anything special – just my job’. We know, however, that without community pharmacists doing ‘their job’ the health of thousands of Tasmanians would suffer.”

The 2021 awards will be held 20 February as part of the Tasmanian Pharmacy Conference hosted by the Pharmacy Guild.

Previous Active ingredient script changes
Next Pharmacy sexism a ‘very real threat’

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

No Comment

Leave a reply