Kate Richardson awarded SHPA Medal of Merit

Kate RIchardson

Kate Richardson has been awarded the SHPA Medal of Merit at Medicines Management 2016, the 42nd SHPA National Conference.

Professor Michael Dooley, President of SHPA, announced the award, saying that Richardson was nominated for her “outstanding contributions to hospital pharmacy at local and national levels.”

 “She has made diverse and significant contributions to the practice of hospital pharmacy and to the professional development of pharmacy in the rapidly expanding e-Health sector,” he said.

“Kate is currently employed at St Vincent’s Hospital Sydney as an electronic Medication Management (EMM) Pharmacist.

“She is the first Informatics Pharmacist at St Vincent’s and has been responsible for developing this role beyond the traditional pharmacist support of a single pharmacy software application.”

Prof Dooley said Richardson’s role focuses on ensuring that EMM systems are utilised to improve medications safety for patients and clinical staff.

“Through leadership and innovation, Kate has successfully addressed the growing need for an e-Health Informatics Pharmacist who can effectively work with IT, Clinical Governance, Patient Safety and Quality units and with pharmacy, nursing and allied health professionals.

“Kate is an outstanding pharmacist who thinks strategically, and collaborates and partners with others to build a vision and deliver outstanding the results,” he said.

“The acceptance of the expanded informatics role, by other health professionals, confirms Kate’s achievements in managing e-Health initiatives locally and her contributions to e-Health in NSW and at a national level.”

Professor Dooley said Richardson is an invaluable asset on many committees, including the SHPA Committee of Speciality Practice – Electronic Medication Management, the SVH Drug and Therapeutics Committee and the SVH Antimicrobial Stewardship Committee.

“Kate has been a member of the National e-Health Transition Authority (NeHTA) Australian Medicines Terminology Support Group and has contributed to the NeHTA Collaborative Medicines Management Forum,” said Prof Dooley.

The SHPA Medal of Merit may be awarded by Federal Council annually, to a member of SHPA, in recognition of an outstanding recent contribution and exemplary effort involving a particular activity or activities relating to hospital pharmacy practice.

The emphasis of the award is on encouragement rather than recognition of overall career achievement and SHPA Branch Committees are invited to nominate a suitable recipient.


Previous Blooms teams up to make wishes come true
Next Pharmacy workforce must adapt, transform

NOTICE: It can sometimes take awhile for comment submissions to go through, please be patient.

1 Comment

  1. Penny Thornton

    Congratulations Kate – well deserved!

Leave a reply